Amusing MySelf

A-muse v. To entertain in an agreeable, pleasing way;to make mildly or temporarily happy.

Pumpkin-the spice of life.

on September 5, 2007

Yea yea I know pumpkin is not a spice but it sounded good to me.I was doing some searching for pumpkin spice tea because it is one flavor I have yet to try and I am so in the mood for all things Fall even though Summer is still here. While searching I came across these. Well guess who just happens to have a pumpkin on the kitchen table ready to be cut up and cooked.  Well ya know what I’m going to be making tomorrow. I wish I could share some with everyone but I can’t so I thought I’d share the recipe instead so you can make your own.  I think I’m going to add white chocolate chips to my batch. I can almost taste them now. My mouth is watering just thinking about them.
Pumpkin Spice Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup canned or fresh pumpkin puree
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground clove
1 cup raisins
1 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease cookie sheets.
  2. In a bowl, with an electric mixer at medium speed, cream together butter with brown sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Beat in pumpkin purée.
  3. In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, ginger, and clove. Add to butter mixture and beat well to combine. Add raisins and nuts in 2 batches, mixing between additions.
  4. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto prepared sheets. Bake about 18 minutes, until set, not browned. Transfer to racks to cool.

Makes 36 cookies.

 Well gotta go fix Mr. Fisherman’s lunch for work. Happy A great day and Happy Knitting. 

6 responses to “Pumpkin-the spice of life.

  1. grace says:

    they seem really delicious, and we will have to bake some this weekend I love the look of your blog, the picture on the banner is so pretty!! Have a wonderful day!!

  2. AllyB says:

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I know they’ll make my kitchen smell like fall on a weekend not far off. After the temperature drops below 85, lol.

  3. Bertha says:

    Oh man, those sound delicious!!

  4. sari says:

    another REALLY EASY (and low fat = so it is even good for you) recipe is this:

    take 1 can of pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling, just plain pumpkin)
    add one box of spice cake mix

    mix them together, you can add a couple tablespoons of water if its not too thick.

    put in a cake dish or cupcake dish and cook at 350 for something like 30 minutes.

    AND IT IS SO GOOD!
    seriously, its freaking awesome.
    bertha says you can also mix in chocolate chips and its good too.

  5. Dipsy D. says:

    Oh my gosh, these sound ever so delicious! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, I will definitely try them out! *Yummy*

  6. Katie says:

    Hiya Jen!! Thanks for posting that recipe! I am definitely going to try those!! Now if the weather here would get a little cooler…….

Leave a Reply

